Book Review: Boxset One: Lucas Rathbone Mysteries 1-5 by Saffron Amatti

Reviewed: August 14th, 2021
Released: January 31st, 2020
Genre: Cozy Mystery

Lucas Rathbone talks to ghosts.

Well, ghosts talk to Lucas. He’d rather they didn’t.

But it’s solve murders or be haunted forever, and he has enough of that as it is.

In the first five Lucas Rathbone Mysteries, Lucas must solve crime to rid himself of ghosts, avoid a ruthless gang he accidentally crossed, and stop people meeting a untimely death, all while battling for a love with the odds stacked against it.

What could go wrong?

Helen’s thoughts: 5/5

I love cozy mysteries and this boxset of Lucas Rathbone mysteries set in the 1920’s is perfect for a nice evening of gentle reading.

Beautifully written and capturing the essence of the roaring twenties, this set of five short stories introduces us to Lucas and Clara. What a wonderful couple Amatti has created. I love the fact Lucas is Clara’s personal raincloud, whereas Clara is Lucas’ sunbeam; sums them both up pretty well. They bounce of each other, all while trying to navigate a newly blossoming romance, if they can get past the misunderstandings and frowning older brother and the rascal Tommy who has taken a shine to Clara much to Lucas’ chagrin. A great couple set to solve any mystery Amatti can think of. Add a twist to the mix that Lucas can see and hear ghosts and you’d think it would be pretty simple to solve any murder.

But of course not.

This is a wonderful romp though the twenties, with characters you will grow to love. Saving 40% by purchasing the box set instead of individual stories is an added bonus!

If you like period mysteries in the vein of Agatha Christie or Mary Stewart then Amatti has your next read ready for you.

About the Author:

Saffron Amatti lives behind a keyboard in Nottinghamshire, UK, with her family and two cats. She can usually be found drinking oversized mugs of tea and burning incense whilst rewriting the same sentence at least a dozen times. She has no noticeable psychic ability, however considering the trouble it lands Lucas – the reluctant psychic/amateur sleuth protagonist in her latest book series- into, this is probably a good thing.

You can find Saffron on:


Box set one of the Lucas Rathbone mysteries is available on Amazon:

Link to book on Amazon UK: eBook | Paperback

Link to book on Amazon US: eBook | Paperback

If you enjoy fantasy books then you will love my books which are available in eBook or paperback: Book One: Sentinals Awaken. Book Two: Sentinals Rising. Book Three: Sentinals Justice (Preorder). Sign up to my newsletter and download a free novella called Sentinals Stirring and get notified when my next books are published.

Success! You're on the list.