Book Review: Origin – Scales and Spells book #1 by AJ Sherwood and Jocelynn Drake

Reviewed: March 1st, 2022
Released: August 10th, 2021
Genre: MM Fantasy Romance
Narrator: Joel Leslie

Cameron wants to make one thing clear: He didn’t come into the festival to find a dragon mate.

Germany is supposed to be an escape. With a new mechanical engineering degree, a new job looming, and a whole life planned out that isn’t his, Germany seems like the best place for Cameron find himself. So how does he end up discovering his lost magic heritage, running from bad guys with a secret agenda, and being adopted by the not-so-extinct Fire Dragon clan?

He blames tall, dark, and sexy Alric, king of the Fire Dragons: his fated mate. Because of course he is, and mates are meant to take the blame, right? It may take a hot second, but as Cameron learns more about the scarred Alric and the life he’s landed in, he realizes that perhaps this is where he’s meant to be – magic, mates, kidnapping, and all.

Turns out Germany isn’t an escape…it’s his awakening.

Helen’s thoughts: 5/5

On my what a couple Cameron and Alric make! Phew the pages must be smoking, and not just because Alric is the most sexy dragon!

The narration by Joel Leslie was brilliant, with a range of german accents for the dragons (being German!!) just added to the mystery and spice.

Cameron is on vacation in Germany, and whilst visiting a festival celebrating Dragons, he is discovered by a hidden Dragon clan. Finding out he was a mage was not what Cameron was expecting, but combined with the smoking hot dragons his life is overturned as he meets the man of his dreams, and has to run from those who are trying abduct him.

Alric is the king of the dragon clan, hidden for centuries after a cataclismic battle between dragons and mages nearly destroyed them all. Alric lives with the failure to protect his people haunting him, until he meets Cameron and sees hope for his clan once more, if he can get past his guilt ridden self-recriminations.

Excellent MM dragon fantasy, with amazing characters that hook you in and don’t let go. Cameron is so sweet and Alric is just so hot! What a combination.

About the author:

AJ Sherwood believes in happily ever afters, magic, dragons, good men, and dark chocolate. She often dreams at night of delectable men doing sexy things with each other. In between writing multiple books (often at the same time) she pets her cats, plays with her dogs, and attempts insane things like aerial yoga.

She currently resides in Michigan with aforementioned dogs and cats. Being in snow country gives her the excuse to stay inside and watch bl dramas, which suit her perfectly.

Jocelynn Drake

New York Times Bestselling author Jocelynn Drake loves a good story, whether she is reading it or writing one of her own. Over the years, her stories have allowed her to explore space, talk to dragons, dodge bullets with assassins, hang with vampires, and fall in love again and again.

This former Kentucky girl has moved up, down, and across the U.S. with her husband. Recently, they’ve settled near the Rockies.

When she is not hammering away at her keyboard or curled up with a book, she can be found walking her dog Ace, or playing video games. She loves Bruce Wayne, Ezio Auditore, travel, tattoos, explosions, and fast cars.

She is the author of the urban fantasy series: The Dark Days series and the Asylum Tales. She has recently completed a gay romantic suspense series called The Exit Strategy about two assassins falling in love and trying to create a life together, as well as a MM paranormal romance series featuring a family of vampires.

She has co-authored with Rinda Elliot the following series: Unbreakable Bonds, Ward Security, Pineapple Grove, and the Weavers Circle. She has also co-authored with AJ Sherwood the Scales ‘N Spells dragon series. She can be found at

Origin is available for purchase via Amazon

Link to book on Amazon UK: eBook | Paperback | Audiobook

Link to book on Amazon US: ebook | Paperback | Audiobook

If you enjoy fantasy books then you will love my books which are available in eBook or paperback: Book One: Sentinals Awaken. Book Two: Sentinals Rising. Book Three: Sentinals Justice. Book 3.5: Sentinals Recovery. Sign up to my newsletter and download a free novella called Sentinals Stirring and get notified when my next books are published.

Success! You're on the list.