Book Review: The Spinning of Deception by Elizabeth Lavender

Reviewed: October 30th 2021
Released: October 25th, 2019
Genre: Science fiction

With the fate of his people on the line, the truth is his greatest weapon…Eighteen-year-old Dante refuses to let evil conquer the galaxy. And the fact that his own father acts as the instrument of a dark lord’s unrelenting destruction only makes it harder. But when Dante learns a mysterious warrior has strange visions of his family, he discovers she may hold the key to defeating his father.

As sinister attacks threaten more and more planets, he fears their purpose is to prepare for an ultimate showdown. But with clues scarce and the girl’s mission to help him turning deadly, Dante might be running out of time before those he swore to protect are doomed.

Can the young hero unravel the mystery and win freedom for the universe?

The Spinning of Deception is the enthralling first book in the Sunspear science fiction series. If you like epic tales of the battle against darkness, intriguing characters, and dangerous adventures, then you’ll love Elizabeth Lavender’s star-spanning saga.

Helen’s thoughts: 4.5/5 rounded up to 5!

The Spinning of Deception is a science fiction novel set in a galaxy of worlds who struggle to survive against the Dark Lord and his forces. The Sunspear warriors who follow the path of the ancient Elders are their only hope along with the rebels determined to protect them.

This novel is very much of a Stars Warsesque vibe, with young warriors learning from wise elders, a father turned to the dark ways and fighting against his only surviving son, and young Sunspear warriors learning the ways of the ancient path.

Even so, there is plenty of original content from the Girl who experiences the visions about Dante’s family, and the secrecy about her identity, to the mystery of what the Dark Lord’s forces are up to.

I struggled to get into the story to begin with, as the reported style of writing is not my preferred POV, I like to get into characters head, but that is my personal preference and once you get used to the style, the story line and the action take over and you are immersed in the adventure and the challenges the characters need to over come.

Both the Girl and Dante are wonderful characters you learn to love and cheer on, as are the many supporting characters around them. From Alika and Seth, the Sunspear elders, to Alena, Lana, Caleb and Ryan. All characters you will learn to love.

The only reason I didn’t give a full five was my personal struggle with the style, and the formatting. Every sentence is formatted the same, with no delineation between a scene or POV change, which was also a little confusing at times, when you were in a meeting room one moment and in the midst of a battle in the next sentence!

That being said, you should definitely pick up this book. It is a very enjoyable read. Can’t wait to start book two, and now book three is out as well, it must be time for a science fiction binge-read!

If you would like to know more about Elizabeth and her Sunspear series, and the background to her beautiful cover, you find my author interview with her here

About the author:

Elizabeth Lavender is the author of the Sunspear series. The first book in the sci-fi series is called The Spinning of Deception and the second book is Deception’s Hold. Originally from the Alabama coast, she currently lives in the Dallas area with her husband, Jeff, and her two children. She has a Master’s degree in counseling from Dallas Baptist University and has studied psychology and English.

She enjoys science fiction and fantasy and hopes to bring some of that same enjoyment to others. She also enjoys suspense novels as well. However, as long as the storyline is intriguing, she will give it a try. Her reading spans from Les Miserables to Shakespeare to the Percy Jackson series to anything written by Ted Dekker or Frank Perretti. She works full-time and has been at the same company for over twenty years happily.

She is a huge football fan and has a decent throwing arm, despite what her oldest son says when he practices throwing the football with her. Although she enjoys Texas, she does love going home to Alabama to visit. Besides visiting family and friends, it is nice to be back near the water again, where the seafood is the best.

The Spinning of Deception

Link to book on Amazon UK: eBook | Paperback | Hardcover

Link to book on Amazon US: eBook | Paperback | Hardcover

If you enjoy also fantasy books then you will love my books which are available in eBook or paperback: Book One: Sentinals Awaken. Book Two: Sentinals Rising. Book Three: Sentinals Justice. Sign up to my newsletter and download a free novella called Sentinals Stirring and get notified when my next books are published.

Success! You're on the list.